5 Brilliant apps for the iPhone

After I wrote my last post on iPad apps, It occurred to me that I had written it on my MacBook and that this runs counter to my belief that you can do almost anything on an iPad.
So, I’m writing this post entirely on an iPhone partly because I want to practice what I preach, and partly because ever since watching “Zoe Barnes” work as a journalist using only an iPhone on Netflix’s House of Cards (I checked this on the movie info app IMDB), I have been inspired to do something similar. So here’s my home screen:

20130401-172617.jpg

1. Keynote Remote ($0.99)
Hook your iPad up to a projector, and this app turns your iPhone into a remote for a keynote presentation. What is more, your notes for each slide are viewable on the iPhone. I used this for a presentation at a large conference, and it worked seamlessly.

20130401-202504.jpg

2. Starbucks (free)
This app is one of the few currently on iOS that allows you to pay for goods straight from your phone. Once you have set up an account and linked a credit card to it, you can top up your balance at any time. This app is great if you are out without your wallet ( on a run, for example) and want to get a drink.

3. Workflowy (free)
This is an elegant and simple to do list that collapses and expands to show and hide lists and sublists. It also syncs nicely across devices.

20130401-202857.jpg

4. Mailbox (free)
There’s a waiting list to get this email app, but the wait is fun: the app shows a counter checking off the number of people in front of you. After checking my counter obsessively for about 10 days, I finally got it.
The main feature of the app is the ability to transform your email into a to-do list by scheduling emails to be re-sent to your address later or by adding them to a list. The central objective of this app then is to help you get to inbox zero and keep you organized using emails as reminders. As you can see, Mailbox helped me get to zero, and the second image here shows the options for rescheduling emails.

20130401-204013.jpg

20130401-204111.jpg

5. Groove Music Player ($3.99)
This app creates instant mixes of songs from your music library, much like iTunes Genuis. However, rather than initiating the process as you have to on iTunes, Groove’s whole interface provides you with new playlists based upon your listening habits. I discovered many long lost tracks in my library after I started using Groove!

20130401-204919.jpg

Best of the rest
The Flashlight app is more useful than I ever would have thought (re-righting the pilot light on the boiler, plugging cables into the back of the tv etc.). I have booked flights on the Southwest app, and searched for houses in my new city on Zillow. Path is a social media platform with a very attractive UI, and Pomio is basically a timer that encourages you to work in 25 minute bursts a la the productivity system Get Things Done.
But now, my thumbs are a little tired – I can’t believe I have written this much on an iPhone.

