Self-Grading Quizzes: the Flubaroo Script for Google Spreadsheets

Screen Shot 2013-11-10 at 9.14.06 PMLike most teachers, I am always looking for ways to lighten my grading load without diluting the quality of feedback that I provide my students.  I don’t know about you, but it seems that I spend almost every waking hour either grading or worrying about it.

As as English teacher for tenth and eleventh graders, most of my assignments ask students to write, explain, present, record, video, and create; there are few occasions where they are asked for a ‘correct’ single word answer or to select from a multiple choice list.

However, there are some occasions (may I say “necessary evils”?) where a self-grading quiz could be helpful: vocabulary quizzes, grammar drills, or even quotation identifications from Hamlet! Moreover, standardized tests loom in the future for most of our students, and while not wanting to feed this juggernaut, I do feel some responsibility to provide at least some exposure to this kind of testing for my students.

For those comfortable with mathematics, a self-grading quiz can fairly easily be created using a statistical formula.  However, as I’ve said, I’m an English teacher comfortable with technology, but I am mathtose intolerant.

Luckily, there is a neat script in Google Spreadsheets called Flubaroo that takes care of the formulas for you.  Simply create a quiz in a form, answer the questions yourself, install the script, and then run it.  The script is free, the instructions are clear, and so far, it has been bug-free for me.  More complete details are available on the Flubaroo site: http://www.flubaroo.com/flubaroo-user-guide#step4

 

